The picture shows a young woman in a white dress. She is dancing. In the background you can see women, men and children looking at her. Exhibition: Sabine Weiss. A Photographer's Life

Sabine Weiss. A Photographer’s Life

6. September 2024 24. November 2024

On the occasion of the 100th birthday of the French-Swiss photographer Sabine Weiss (1924-2021), f³ – freiraum für fotografie is showing a retrospective of her work for the first time in Germany.

Sabine Weiss is one of the most important representatives of French humanist photography of the 20th century, with a career spanning more than seven decades. Humanist photography, which essentially combined the philosophy of the Enlightenment with social documentary practice, emerged after the Second World War. Photographers such as Robert Doisneau, Willy Ronis and Brassaï were famous representatives. Whether reportage, illustrations, fashion, advertising, portraits of artists or personal works: Sabine Weiss saw all areas of photography as a challenge, as a pretext for encounters and travel, as a means of living and self-expression.

The exhibition Sabine Weiss. A Photographer’s Life, which the author worked on until her death, tells of this lifelong passion and sheds light on the focal points of a body of work that develops around the human condition. Using original prints, archive documents and films, the exhibition paints a portrait of a photographer who was driven by an insatiable curiosity about other people, whether in France, where she settled in 1946, in the USA or on her countless travels throughout Europe. 

In 2016 and 2018, Sabine Weiss was honored with two exhibitions at the Jeu de Paume Château de Tours and the Musée National d’Art Moderne at the Centre Pompidou in Paris and received the 2020 Women In Motion Award for photography presented by Kering as part of a highly acclaimed retrospective at the Rencontres d’Arles photography festival. Due to the diverse and positive response, she agreed to open her personal archive and make her multi-layered work accessible to the public.

Sabine Weiss (née Weber) was born in Saint-Gingolph, Switzerland, in 1924. She completed an apprenticeship as a photographer in the studio of the renowned photographer Paul Boissonnas in Geneva and then settled in Paris, where she assisted the German fashion photographer Willy Maywald. From 1949, she worked as a freelance photographer. Her photographs were published in Esquire, Vogue, Paris Match, Life and Time magazines, among others. In 1952 she joined the Rapho agency. Weiss realized over 170 solo exhibitions and was represented with her photographs in more than 80 group exhibitions, including Edward Steichen’s famous exhibition The Family of Man at the Museum of Modern Art in New York. Her estate is managed by Photo Elysée in Lausanne and comprises around 160,000 negatives, 7,000 contact sheets, 8,000 prints, 46,000 slides and various documentary materials.

The exhibition is curated by photo historian Virginie Chardin, organized by f³ – freiraum für fotografie, produced by Sabine Weiss Studio and Photo Elysée, with the support of Jeu de Paume, Les Rencontres d’Arles and Women In Motion, a Kering program to shine a light on women in arts and culture.

 

In cooperation mit:

Logo von Photo ElyseeLogo Atelier Sabine Weiss

Sponsored:

Logo Kering

 

Image: Roma, Saintes-Maries-de-la-Mer, France, 1960 © Sabine Weiss, Collections Photo Elysée, Lausanne

Auf dem Bild sieht man eine junge Frau in einem weißen Kleid. Sie tanzt. Im Hintergrund sieht man Frauen, Männer und Kinder, die sie ansehen.

Sabine Weiss. A Photographer’s Life

6. September 2024 24. November 2024

Anlässlich des 100. Geburtstages der französisch-schweizerischen Fotografin Sabine Weiss (1924–2021) zeigt f³ – freiraum für fotografie erstmals in Deutschland eine Retrospektive ihrer Arbeit.

Sabine Weiss gehört zu den wichtigsten Repräsentant*innen der französischen humanistischen Fotografie des 20. Jahrhunderts. Ihre Karriere umspannt mehr als sieben Jahrzehnte. Die humanistische Fotografie, welche im Kern die Philosophie der Aufklärung mit sozialdokumentarischer Praxis verband, entstand nach dem Zweiten Weltkrieg. Fotografen wie Robert Doisneau, Willy Ronis und Brassaï waren berühmte Vertreter. Ob Reportage, Illustrationen, Mode, Werbung, Künstler*innenporträts oder persönliche Arbeiten: Sabine Weiss sah alle Bereiche der Fotografie als Herausforderung an, als Vorwand für Begegnungen und Reisen, als Mittel zum Leben und als Selbstausdruck.

Die Ausstellung Sabine Weiss. A Photographer’s Life, an der die Autorin bis zu ihrem Tod mitgewirkt hat, berichtet von dieser lebenslangen Leidenschaft und beleuchtet die Schwerpunkte eines Werks, das sich rund um das menschliche Sein entwickelt. Anhand von Originalabzügen, Archivdokumenten und Filmen zeichnet sie das Porträt einer Fotografin, die von einer unstillbaren Neugier auf andere Menschen angetrieben wurde, sei es in Frankreich, wo sie sich 1946 niederließ, in den USA oder auf ihren unzähligen Reisen durch ganz Europa. 

Im Jahr 2016 und 2018 wurde Sabine Weiss durch zwei Ausstellungen im Jeu de Paume Château de Tours und im Musée National d’Art Moderne im Centre Pompidou in Paris geehrt sowie im Rahmen einer vielbeachteten Retrospektive bei dem Fotofestival Rencontres d’Arles mit dem 2020 Women In Motion Award for photography, verliehen von Kering, ausgezeichnet. Aufgrund der vielfältigen und positiven Resonanz erklärte sie sich bereit ihr persönliches Archiv zu öffnen und ihr vielschichtiges Werk der Öffentlichkeit zugänglich zu machen.

Sabine Weiss (geb. Weber) wurde 1924 in Saint-Gingolph in der Schweiz geboren. Sie absolvierte eine Lehre als Fotografin im Studio des renommierten Fotografen Paul Boissonnas in Genf und ließ sich anschließend in Paris nieder, wo sie dem deutschen Modefotografen Willy Maywald assistierte. Ab 1949 arbeitete sie als freischaffende Fotografin. Ihre Aufnahmen wurden unter anderem in den Zeitschriften Esquire, Vogue, Paris Match, Life und Time publiziert. 1952 trat sie der Agentur Rapho bei. Weiss realisierte über 170 Einzelausstellungen und war mit ihren Fotografien in mehr als 80 Gruppenausstellungen vertreten, u.a. in Edward Steichens berühmter Ausstellung The Family of Man im Museum of Modern Art in New York. Ihr Nachlass wird vom Photo Elysée in Lausanne betreut und umfasst rund 160.000 Negative, 7.000 Kontaktbögen, 8.000 Prints, 46.000 Diapositive und diverses Dokumentationsmaterial.

Kuratorin der Ausstellung ist die Fotohistorikerin Virginie Chardin. Die Ausstellung wird organisiert von f³ – freiraum für fotografie, produziert von Sabine Weiss Studio und Photo Elysée, mit der Unterstützung von Jeu de Paume, Les Rencontres d’Arles und Women In Motion, einem Programm von Kering zur Förderung von Frauen in Kunst und Kultur.

 

In Kooperation mit:

Logo von Photo ElyseeLogo Atelier Sabine Weiss

Gesponsert von:

Logo Kering

 

Bild: Roma, Saintes-Maries-de-la-Mer, Frankreich, 1960 © Sabine Weiss, Collections Photo Elysée, Lausanne