Aktuelle Fotografie-Ausstellung in Berlin

#women- photographer Vol. I

6. December 2018
10. February 2019

#womenphotographer Vol. I with works by Berenice Abbott, Merry Alpern, Diane Arbus, Elinor Carucci, Nan Goldin, Germaine Krull, Dorothea Lange, Vivian Maier, Inge Morath, Ruth Orkin, Rosemarie Pierer, Dayanita Singh, Annette von Keudell and Karin Székessy.

Women conquered the new medium of photography in the 19th century. As pioneers, they contributed essentially to its development and the emergence of new photographic ways of seeing. The Cyanotype Photograms by Anna Atkins are among the first photographs published as scientific illustrations.

Photography enabled women to realize their idea of a self-determined, creative life, to travel and to earn their own living. In addition to portrait, fashion, and architectural photography, female photographers also excelled in photojournalism from the 1920s onwards. Often they focused on the everyday, on the living conditions of women and children, documented social marginal groups and examined the female body relentlessly with the camera.

Did they choose themes that are off the beaten track of world politics, as they have always been attributed to them by society? Or because they can gain intimate access to their subjects, which is denied to their male counterparts? Or does it finally exist, the female gaze?

The exhibition #womenphotographer Vol. I wants to provide insights into the diverse work of female photographers and to initiate a deeper study of their view of the world.

Photo: © Ruth Orkin Photo Archive.

Aktuelle Fotografie-Ausstellung in Berlin

#women- photographer Vol. I

6. December 2018
10. February 2019

#womenphotographer Vol. I mit Werken von Berenice Abbott, Merry Alpern, Diane Arbus, Elinor Carucci, Nan Goldin, Germaine Krull, Dorothea Lange, Vivian Maier, Inge Morath, Ruth Orkin, Rosemarie Pierer, Dayanita Singh, Annette von Keudell und Karin Székessy.

Frauen eroberten im 19. Jahrhundert das neue Medium Fotografie. Als Pionierinnen trugen sie Wesentliches zu seiner Entwicklung und zur Herausbildung neuer fotografischer Sehweisen bei. Die Zyanotypie-Fotogramme von Anna Atkins zählen zu den ersten Fotografien, die als wissenschaftliche Illustrationen veröffentlicht wurden.

Fotografie ermöglichte den Frauen, ihre Vorstellung eines selbstbestimmten, kreativen Lebens umzusetzen, zu reisen und ihr eigenes Geld zu verdienen. Neben Porträt-, Mode- und Architekturfotografie brillierten Fotografinnen ab den 1920er Jahren auch im Fotojournalismus. Oft konzentrierten sie sich auf das Alltägliche, auf die Lebensumstände von Frauen und Kindern, dokumentierten soziale Randgruppen und untersuchten den weiblichen Körper schonungslos mit der Kamera.

Wählten sie Themen abseits der Weltpolitik, da sie ihnen seit jeher von der Gesellschaft zugeschrieben werden? Oder weil sie sich einen intimen Zugang zu ihren Sujets erarbeiten können, der ihren männlichen Kollegen verwehrt bleibt? Oder gibt es sie doch, die spezifisch weibliche Sichtweise, den female gaze?

Die Ausstellung #womenphotographer Vol. I möchte Einblicke in das diverse Schaffen von Fotografinnen eröffnen und Anstoß dazu sein, sich vertiefend mit ihrem Blick auf die Welt zu beschäftigen.

Foto: © Ruth Orkin Photo Archive.