Robin Hammond

Where Love Is Illegal

22. June 2018
2. September 2018

The acceptance of lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender and intersexual people (LGBTI) has increased significantly in recent decades. However, people whose sexual orientation and gender identity do not conform to the norm are still being prosecuted in 72 countries of the world. The brutality is shocking: fines, imprisonment, torture – in some cases also the death penalty – are on the agenda of daily oppression.

For several years, the internationally acclaimed photographer Robin Hammond – a member of the Amsterdam agency NOOR – travelled through countries where LGBTI people are persecuted and threatened. This resulted in hundreds of portraits of people who – openly or secretly – have to defend their identity anew every day, often at risk to life and limb.

Robin Hammond took his impressive portraits on Polaroid film, which gives them their own, almost surreal and dreamlike visual aesthetics. Through the shooting technique, the careful approach to its protagonists and the use of the available light, Where Love Is Illegal is not only an invaluable document of our time, but also demonstrates the photographer’s extraordinary ability for artistic expression.

In  cooperation with: Heinrich-Böll-Stiftung.
With kind support: Embassy of the Kingdom of the Netherlands, Hannchen-Mehrzweck-Stiftung.

Robin Hammond

Where Love is illegal

22. June 2018
2. September 2018

Die Akzeptanz von lesbischen, schwulen, bisexuellen, transgender und intersexuellen Menschen (LGBTI) hat sich in den letzten Jahrzehnten deutlich erhöht. Nach wie vor aber werden in 72 Staaten dieser Welt Menschen, deren sexuelle Orientierung und Geschlechtsidentität nicht der Norm entsprechen, strafrechtlich verfolgt. Die Brutalität ist schockierend: Geldstrafen, Gefängnis, Folter – in einigen Fällen auch die Todesstrafe – stehen auf der Agenda der täglichen Unterdrückung.

Mehrere Jahre reiste der international ausgezeichnete Fotograf Robin Hammond – Mitglied der Amsterdamer Agentur NOOR – durch Länder, in denen LGBTI Menschen verfolgt und bedroht werden. Entstanden sind hunderte Porträts von Menschen, die – offen oder im Geheimen – ihre Identität täglich neu verteidigen müssen, oft unter Gefahr für Leib und Leben.

Aufgenommen hat Robin Hammond seine eindrücklichen Porträts auf Polaroid-Film, der ihnen eine eigene, fast surreale und traumhafte Bildästhetik verleiht. Durch die Aufnahmetechnik, die behutsame Annäherung an seine ProtagonistInnen und den Umgang mit dem avaliable light ist Where Love is Illegal nicht nur ein unschätzbares Dokument unserer Zeit, sondern demonstriert auch die außerordentliche Fähigkeit zur künstlerischen Ausdrucksform des Fotografen.