Frederike Helwig | Anne Waak

Kriegskinder

2. February 2018
8. April 2018

“What did my parents experience when they were as old as my son is today? What made them what they are today?” These are the questions the photographer Frederike Helwig and the author Anne Waak examine in her project, Kriegskinder.

People born in the late 1930s and early 1940s, who grew up during World War II, are now in their eighth decade of life. Here, they look back and talk — some of them for the first time ever — about what marked them: bombs, flight, fear, hunger, illness, missing fathers, overwhelmed mothers, and the silence of the post-war era, when it was thought that memories of the war and its intergenerational consequences should be forgotten.

“The people portrayed had the courage to stand before the camera and tell their stories. Most of their recollections are anecdotal, with varying degrees of selfreflection. Trauma or transgenerational consequences are rarely addressed, and hence reflect the usual silence that continues to this day. Readers are therefore required to read between the lines, to reflect upon their own family histories, and to begin discussing the worst chapter in German history.” writes the author Alexandra Senfft in the foreword of the book Kriegskinder.

The project shows forty-four analogue portrait photos of a generation whose memories will soon vanish. Juxtaposing numerous childhood recollections with the portraits of the witnesses results in a complex image of the generations during the Nazi era.

An exhibition in cooperation with Hatje Cantz Verlag.

Frederike Helwig / Anne Waak

Kriegskinder

2. February 2018
8. April 2018

»Was haben meine Eltern erlebt, als sie so alt waren wie mein Sohn heute? Was hat sie zu denen gemacht, die sie heute sind?« Diesen Fragen gehen die Fotografin Frederike Helwig und die Autorin Anne Waak in dem Projekt Kriegskinder nach.

Diejenigen, die Ende der 1930er-, Anfang der 1940er-Jahre geboren wurden und während des Zweiten Weltkriegs aufwuchsen, sind heute in ihrem achten Lebensjahrzehnt. Sie schauen zurück, sprechen teilweise zum ersten Mal darüber, was sie geprägt hat: Bomben, Flucht, Angst, Hunger, Krankheit, Tod, verschwundene Väter, überforderte Mütter, aber auch die Sprachlosigkeit der Nachkriegszeit – Erinnerungen an den Krieg und dessen generationsübergreifende Folgen sollten vergessen werden.

»Die Porträtierten hatten den Mut, sich der Kamera zu stellen und ihre Geschichten zu erzählen. Ihre Erinnerungen sind überwiegend anekdotisch, mit unterschiedlichem Maß an Selbstreflexion. Traumata oder transgenerationale Folgen kommen selten zur Sprache und spiegeln somit das bis heute übliche Schweigen. Der Betrachter ist deshalb aufgefordert, zwischen den Zeilen zu lesen, über die eigene Familiengeschichte zu reflektieren und einen Dialog über dieses schlimmste Kapitel der deutschen Geschichte zu beginnen.«, so Autorin Alexandra Senfft im Vorwort des Buches Kriegskinder.

Das Projekt zeigt 44 analog fotografierte Porträts einer Generation, deren Erinnerungen bald verschwunden sein werden. Anhand von Interviewauszügen, die den Porträts der Zeitzeugen gegenüber gestellt werden, ergibt sich ein komplexes Bild der Kriegskinder-Jahrgänge, die in der Zeit des Nationalsozialismus zur Welt kamen.

Eine Ausstellung in Kooperation mit dem Hatje Cantz Verlag.