Arne Wesenberg

Im [Un]Ruhestand

15. June 2019
18. August 2019

The political scientist Gesine Schwan, the photographer Walter Schels, the professor Jeanine Meerapfel, the toilet guard Werner Berlin, the writer Rafik Schami, the actor Michael Gwisdek, the social pedagogue Petra Peterich have all something in common: They work, even though they have reached the retirement age already long ago.

Their motivation is very different. Petra Peterich wants to give something back to society: “Why do I do it all? Because it is a social task – and because I can do it! “, Werner Berlin finances with his job the joint holidays with his wife, while the photographer Walter Schels simply says:” Life is too short to stop working.”

The number of older working people in Germany is increasing rapidly. The labor force participation of 60- to 64-year-olds has almost tripled in the last ten years. At the same time, fewer and fewer people will be available to the labor market in the coming years. A retirement age of 69 is currently being discussed.

For more than seven years Lübeck-based photographer Arne Wesenberg has been portraying the reality of life of those who –  voluntarily or out of economic necessity – have been working in their old age. Im [Un]Ruhestand provides in more than 200 portraits individual answers to questions about demographic aging, a functioning pension system and the importance of working in our society.

Photo: © Arne Wesenberg from the series Im [Un]Ruhestand

Arne Wesenberg

Im [Un]Ruhestand

15. June 2019
18. August 2019

Die Politikwissenschaftlerin Gesine Schwan, der Fotograf Thomas Höpker, die Professorin Jeanine Meerapfel, der WC-Wächter Werner Berlin, der Schriftsteller Rafik Schami, der Schauspieler Michael Gwisdek, die Sozialpädagogin Petra Peterich haben etwas gemeinsam: Sie arbeiten, obwohl sie das gesetzliche Rentenalter längst erreicht haben.

Ihre Motivation dafür ist ganz unterschiedlich. Petra Peterich möchte der Gesellschaft etwas zurückgeben: „Warum ich das alles mache? Weil es eine gesellschaftliche Aufgabe ist – und weil ich es kann!“, Werner Berlin finanziert mit seiner Tätigkeit die gemeinsamen Urlaube mit seiner Frau, während der Fotograf Walter Schels schlicht meint: „Das Leben ist zu kurz, um mit dem Arbeiten aufzuhören.“

Die Zahl der älteren Beschäftigten in Deutschland nimmt rasant zu. Die Erwerbsbeteiligung der 60- bis 64-jährigen hat sich in den letzten zehn Jahren fast verdreifacht. Gleichzeitig stehen dem Arbeitsmarkt in den kommenden Jahren immer weniger Menschen zur Verfügung. Aktuell ist die Rente mit 69 Jahren in der Diskussion.

Der Lübecker Fotograf Arne Wesenberg porträtierte über sieben Jahre lang mit der analogen Großbildkamera die Lebensrealität derjenigen, die – freiwillig oder aus ökonomischer Notwendigkeit heraus – im Alter berufstätig sind. Im [Un]Ruhestand gibt in über 200 Porträts ganz individuelle Antworten auf Fragen zur demografischen Alterung, zu einem funktionierenden Rentensystem und zur Bedeutung der Arbeit in unserer Gesellschaft. 

Foto: © Arne Wesenberg aus der Serie Im [Un]Ruhestand