Mihaela Noroc

The Atlas of Beauty

16. November 2017
21. January 2018

In 2013 Mihaela Noroc decided to quit her job and to dedicate herself exclusively to photography and travel. She called The Atlas of Beauty into life. At first only a personal photo project The Atlas of Beauty quickly became a global undertaking. Traveling only with her backpack and her camera equipment, the photographer since then has been portraying more than 2,000 women from over 50 countries: from Germany to North Korea, from Myanmar to Iceland.

The result is a kaleidoscope of women’s portraits, which could not be more different. „For me, beauty is diversity. It is much more than what we often see today in mass media”, says the photographer about her project.

In a time of ubiquitous beauty ideals, standardized bodies and body optimization, The Atlas of Beauty shows photographs that encourage women worldwide to go their own path and to discover their own beauty, beyond marketing campaigns and social constraints.

Mihaela Noroc

The Atlas of Beauty

16. November 2017
21. January 2018

2013 beschloss Mihaela Noroc ihren Job zu kündigen und sich fortan ausschließlich der Fotografie und dem Reisen zu widmen. Sie rief The Atlas of Beauty ins Leben. Zunächst nur ein kleines, persönliches Fotoprojekt wurde The Atlas of Beauty schnell zum globalen Vorhaben. Nur mit einem Rucksack und ihrer Kameraausrüstung unterwegs, hat die Fotografin seitdem mehr als 2.000 Frauen aus über 50 Ländern porträtiert: von Deutschland bis Nordkorea, von Myanmar bis Island.

Entstanden ist ein Kaleidoskop von Frauenporträts, wie sie unterschiedlicher nicht sein könnten. „Schönheit bedeutet für mich Vielfalt. Sie ist viel mehr als das, was wir heute oft in den Massenmedien sehen”, sagt Mihaela Noroc über ihr Projekt.

In einer Zeit allgegenwärtiger Schönheitsideale, genormter Körper und der Body-Optimierung zeigt The Atlas of Beauty Fotografien, die Frauen weltweit dazu ermutigen, ihren eigenen Weg zu gehen und ihre eigene Schönheit zu entdecken, jenseits von Marketing-Kampagnen und gesellschaftlichen Zwängen.