FOTO TALK: AUF DER COUCH

24. October 2019

19:00

In conversation with Angelika Hartmann, co-founder of the photo book publisher Hartmann Books, photographer Paula Markert presents her recently published book Eine Reise durch Deutschland. The NSU Murder Series and provides insights into the development of the long-term photographic project and the publication.

For over a decade, the members of the extreme right-wing terrorist group NSU lived underground. Between 2000 and 2007, they murdered nine people with a migration background and a police officer. The victims and their relatives were criminalized for years. In July 2018, after a five-year trial in Munich, the verdict in the murder trial was announced.

From autumn 2014 to spring 2017, Paula Markert travelled through Germany following in the footsteps of the NSU, documenting people and places associated with the NSU complex.

Angelika and Markus Hartmann founded the exhibition and artist agency Hartmann Projects in 2014. Together with Nadine Engler, they founded the Hartmann Books publishing house in 2016. They represent national and international artists and collaborate with institutions, galleries, collectors, publishers and the media.

Paula Markert studied communication design with a focus on photography at HAW Hamburg and the University of Barcelona and works for Die Zeit, SZ Magazin, Stern, Geo, taz and Les Echos, among others. The publication of her project Eine Reise durch Deutschland. The NSU Murder Series won bronze at the LeadAwards 2016 in the category “Best Contribution” and was part of the main exhibition of the f/stop Festival 2016 in Leipzig. The work was shown at this year’s Fotodoks Festival in Munich and can be seen until 31.10. at the Freelens Gallery in Hamburg.

The conversation will take place in German.
Admission: 5 € | reduced 3 €

FOTO-TALK: AUF DER COUCH is funded by the European Social Fund (ESF) and the State of Berlin.

Photo © Paula Markert from the series “Eine Reise durch Deutschland. The NSU Murder Series”

FOTO TALK: AUF DER COUCH

24. October 2019

19:00

Im Gespräch mit Angelika Hartmann, Mitbegründerin des Fotobuchverlags Hartmann Books, stellt die Fotografin Paula Markert ihr soeben erschienenes Buch Eine Reise durch Deutschland. Die Mordserie des NSU vor und gibt Einblicke in die Entstehungsgeschichte des fotografischen Langzeitprojekts und der Publikation.

Über ein Jahrzehnt lang lebten die Mitglieder der rechtsextremen Terrorgruppe NSU im Untergrund. Zwischen den Jahren 2000 und 2007 ermordeten sie neun Menschen mit Migrationshintergrund und eine Polizistin. Die Opfer und ihre Angehörigen wurden jahrelang kriminalisiert. Nach fünfjährigem Prozess wurde im Juli 2018 in München das Urteil in dem Mordprozess verkündet.

Paula Markert reiste von Herbst 2014 bis Frühjahr 2017 auf den Spuren des NSU durch Deutschland und dokumentierte Menschen und Orte, die mit dem NSU-Komplex in Verbindung stehen.

Angelika und Markus Hartmann riefen 2014 die Ausstellungs- und Künstleragentur Hartmann Projects ins Leben. 2016 gründeten sie zusammen mit Nadine Engler den Verlag Hartmann Books. Sie vertreten national und international Künstler*innen und arbeiten dabei mit Institutionen, Galerien, Sammlern, Verlagen und Medien zusammen.

Paula Markert hat Kommunikationsdesign mit Schwerpunkt Fotografie an der HAW Hamburg und der Universität von Barcelona studiert und arbeitet unter anderem für Die Zeit, SZ Magazin, Stern, Geo, taz und Les Echos. Die Publikation ihres Projektes Eine Reise durch Deutschland. Die Mordserie des NSU gewann bei den LeadAwards 2016 Bronze in der Kategorie “Bester Beitrag” und war Teil der Hauptausstellung des f/stop Festivals 2016 in Leipzig. Die Arbeit wurde auf dem diesjährigen Fotodoks Festival in München gezeigt und ist noch bis zum 31.10. in der Freelens Galerie in Hamburg zu sehen.

Das Gespräch findet auf Deutsch statt.
Eintritt: 5 € | ermäßigt 3 €

FOTO-TALK: AUF DER COUCH wird gefördert durch Mittel des Europäischen Sozialfonds (ESF) und des Landes Berlin.

Foto © Paula Markert aus der Serie „Eine Reise durch Deutschland. Die Mordserie des NSU“.